Coasting with a Coaster

5

July 26, 2015 by aswecrochet

Hi everyone! Sorry for my inactivity this week. I actually started a new job (!) and I’m really excited, giggly, and happy about it. It’s with classical music, which I grew up playing, and still play.

Cool perks:

  • Working in the only building in the loop that has hand-cranked elevators (I smile every time. I don’t think I’ll ever take the stairs because of this)
  • Starting your morning off by walking into one of Chicago’s most beautiful buildings
  • Being surrounded by music and people who really love music
  • Having coworkers and others excited about the music I’m playing in the civic orchestra (community orchestra)

The one semi-downside is that my commute is now an hour and a half door-to-door. The perk is that I get lots of time to crochet and read. So may I present my first main crochet work on the train: a coaster for my new desk.

Coaster

That’s my #1 German mug! Maybe that will be my new office mug? Another great thrift find from S.’s sister. Their Goodwill is amazing!

It’s made with the star stitch, which I had never done before. It’s perfect for a coaster and it’s wool so it’ll be super absorbent. Here’s the pattern. The pattern was easy and easy to follow (once I got through the testing phase of which previous loops to go into).

I really like the star stitch. It’s a bit stiff, so it’s great for this project. Anyone else use the star stitch and if so, for which projects?

Stray observations about working in the loop:

  • Walking downtown at 8:30 a.m. is like playing Frogger
  • The juxtapositions are astounding: the homeless and the super stylish business executives
  • Street musicians galore!

On the plus side, I get to walk three miles a day, which is really good for health. I’m not sure I’ll be so happy about that in the winter, but I’m armed with wool and a hook!

Coaster 2

Any of you have projects that you like to work on for your commute?

5 thoughts on “Coasting with a Coaster

  1. Hey! I wanted to nominate you for the Leibster Award, but I couldn’t find your e-mail! If you want to e-mail me at livingthegraylife@gmail.com I would love to give you more details!
    -Abigail

    Like

  2. Cheyanne says:

    Congrats on the new job! I just recently got a car and am no longer taking public transit to work. I actually really miss reading and crocheting on the way to work. I used to make a lot of crocheted snowflakes for Christmas gifts. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

