Goodwill Score – Corn Fiber Yarn

5

July 20, 2015 by aswecrochet

Corn Fiber Yarn

Corn fiber yarn! !!

  1. I love corn (to eat)
  2. I live in the Midwest so I naturally love corn because I see it grow wherever I drive.
  3. I love yarn.
  4. Corn fiber yarn!

This was a Goodwill score given to me yesterday by S.’s sister and brother-in-law. Not only do I think this is a good thrift score because it’s corn fiber, but it’s in great shape. Tags still on and everything.

The company is Corny Goodness, and their the first company to make fibers out of corn. The care (direct from their website) is pretty awesome:

  • Washable
  • Requires less drying time, or just hang to dry
  • Gains strength with multiple washings!
  • Antibacterial
  • Natural Soil Release
  • Wrinkle Resistant

Now, what to do with it? Anyone have any idea on a project using 480 yards?

5 thoughts on “Goodwill Score – Corn Fiber Yarn

  1. Cheyanne says:

    Amazing score!!! Don’t really have any suggestions for you though. I am boring and usually make baby hats out of random bits of yarn. Womp womp womp.

    Like

  2. EssHaych says:

    I had no idea you could make yarn from corn! Such a great find!

    Like

  3. I have not ever come across corn yarn! I have seen books or articles around that talk about using “alternative fiber”. You might try a search for that to get some project ideas! How is the texture of it? I will be curious to see how it is to work with and what you come up with!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

