Unwinding

Leave a comment

February 8, 2015 by aswecrochet

I mentioned in my last post that I had to rip out part of the jacket I’m working on. Here’s the main reason why: the underarm of the sleeve was looking wonky. To shape the sleeves, I increased that section until it reached 7.5″, then I crocheted about 8.5″ of stitches and then joined to the body. The result was a bunch of fabric hanging out under the arm.

I think I should have increased my sleeve to 14″ to get a 7″ diameter, and then chained a few stitches for underarm ease, and then joined.

With that said, I had to rip out. I could finish it, and I knew S. would wear it, but it would become a franken-jacket, and I ultimately want to make S. something that he’ll wear all the time.

Here’s an auxiliary reason why I wanted to rip out anyway: the fabric was bubbling where I was increasing the front panel, but not the sleeve.

Bubbling Right Front - Bubble

Fellow crocheters, do you know why it’s bubbling up? My theories are:

  1. My tension is too tight
  2. I’m increasing before the stitch marker but not after

This is my first time really ripping out a chunk of a project. All that work. Ripped out.

On the bright side, I get to work with this yarn for a longer time, which also makes my bank account happy.

And if this mistake was caused by crocheting an equal number of stitches instead of chaining a few and then joining, I’ll probably never make this mistake again.

Or as Bob Ross would have put it, I won’t make this happy accident again.

Here’s how much I had to rip out and rewind:

Unwound Rewound Yarn

Thanks for reading!

And because I’m also trying to learn German, the first paragraph roughly translated to German:

Für mein Deutsche Leiserin: Im meine Blog ich erwähnte, dass meine Jacke ich abspulen hatte, weil die Achselhöhle albern bekommen war. Ich formte der Ärmel und ich nahm der Ärmel zu 7.5″ zu und dann ich häkelte 8.5″ Maschen und danach ich verbunden der Ärmel zum Köper.

I welcome any fixes to my German, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

